Thursday, November 08, 2012
(Last modified: 2012-11-08 11:49:51)
Author: Anna Oakes
Source: The Blowing Rocket

Watauga County’s two freshmen Republicans in the General Assembly have won the right to return to Raleigh, according to unofficial election results.

N.C. Rep. Jonathan Jordan of Jefferson defeated Democrat Cullie Tarleton of Blowing Rock for the second consecutive election to clinch his second term in the N.C. House of Representatives for the 93rd District, which includes Ashe and Watauga counties.

Jordan won by a margin of 1,029 votes in unofficial results — or 51.3 percent to 48.7 percent. The Republican was outspent by the Tarleton’s campaign by a factor of more than 2 to 1 in a race that raised more than $250,000.

“I’m very honored and privileged to be able to serve a second term,” Jordan said. “I’ve been elected to represent all citizens of the High Country, and that’s what I’m going to do.”

Tarleton said that he expected to lose in Ashe County, but that he had hoped a margin of victory in Watauga would deliver the district for him.

“Looking at the results in Ashe, Democrats just didn’t do well at all,” Tarleton said. “It was just not a good time to be a Democrat for Ashe County, I suppose.”

He added, “I’m very grateful to those people who supported me, and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to put a victory on the books and go to Raleigh and work for them. As the old saying goes, the people have spoken, and we’ll abide by the results.”

Republican state Sen. Dan Soucek of Boone also won his re-election bid, defeating Roy Carter of Glendale Springs in the 45th District, which includes Alleghany, Ashe, Watauga, Avery and Caldwell counties.

Soucek said he wants to continue leadership on education issues and to focus on jobs and the economy when the General Assembly convenes in January.

“I’m really excited about the results of the race,” he said. “I was impressed by (Jordan’s) victory. I think it was a come-from-behind win.

“We’re exhausted, but it’s time to get to work,” he added.

Carter did not immediately respond to a phone message as of presstime.

Republican gubernatorial candidate Pat McCrory led Democrat Walter Dalton by wide margins in polls leading up to the election and followed through with a significant defeat of the lieutenant governor, winning the governorship with 54 percent of the vote, compared to 43 percent for Dalton.

Judicial races
The N.C. Supreme Court will continue to be a conservative body with the re-election of Paul Martin Newby.

According to unofficial results, Newby beat competitor Sam J. Ervin IV with about 52 percent of the vote. Newby received 1,826,981 votes statewide compared to 1,688,296 for Ervin.

On the N.C. Court of Appeals, incumbents won two out of three seats. Linda McGee handily beat David S. Robinson, and Wanda Bryant also had no trouble besting Marty McGee.

For the final seat, Chris Dillon won over incumbent Cressie Thigpen.

District 24 Judges Greg Horne, Alexander Lyerly and Ted McEntire ran unopposed.

Winners in the Council of State races, according to unofficial results with 99 of 100 precincts reporting, were Democrat Beth Wood, state auditor; Republican Steve Troxler, commissioner of agriculture; Democrat Wayne Goodwin, insurance commissioner; Republican Cherie Berry, commissioner of labor; Democrat Elaine Marshall, secretary of state; Democrat June Atkinson, superintendent of public instruction; and Democrat Janet Cowell, state treasurer.

 — Kellen Moore contributed to this story.

Copyright © 2014, The Blowing Rocket