Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

July 29, 2014

choose text size bigger text smaller text

Teresa Caine, standing, center, is the new president of the Blowing Rock Art and History
Photo submitted

Originally published: 2012-06-07 15:59:24
Last modified: 2012-06-07 16:02:24

Teresa Caine becomes newest president of BRAHM

Nearly 80 members attended the annual Members’ Appreciation Meeting at the Blowing Rock Art and History Museum on June 4, the first to be held in BRAHM’s new Community Meeting Room. 

The meeting included financial and membership updates, as well as the election of six new board of trustees members and an announcement introducing a new lecture in honor of retiring president Welborn Alexander and his wife, Patty. 

In his last presidential remarks, Alexander thanked the three groups that had helped the museum become successful — its members, donors and trustees — and challenged the 2012 board of trustees to expand upon the museum’s successes.

“I encourage the board to continue to take their service seriously,” he said. “I want you to be able to look back and know that you made a difference. BRAHM is bigger than any one person. … I am confident that it can become a regional community center and enrich the lives of the people here.”

Alexander also introduced the museum’s new president, Teresa Caine, who has most recently served as the board’s treasurer. Caine then gave a financial update, including three areas of focus — the completion of construction, the endowment and the annual operating budget.

Membership chairwoman LaRose Spooner, who also concluded a seven-year term on the board Sunday, presented a membership update. 

BRAHM currently has 863 members, 339 of whom are new members this year, which represents a 295 percent increase of new members over 2011, she said.

With $95,000 in dues collected, Spooner said that the membership committee anticipates meeting its goal of $125,000 by the end of the museum’s fiscal year in August.

In addition to Alexander and Spooner, Pat Reighard and Judy Watson also concluded their terms of service. 

John Albright, chairman of the nominating committee, announced six new trustees, who were then elected by the members in attendance. The new trustees are Bill Brown, Ed Kelly, Ramona Presson, Ben Shoemake, Ned Trivette and Virginia Powell. 

Following the meeting, the board elected its new executive committee, which will include Caine as president, Chelsea Garrett as vice president, Linda Russell as secretary, Graham Denton as treasurer and Rebecca Ficklen as member-at-large.

The meeting ended with the announcement of the new Alexander Arts Lecture Series, which will be held each year in honor of Welborn and Patty Alexander’s many years of service. The lecture series was endowed by past and present trustees to recognize the outstanding leadership provided by Alexander. 

Sylvia Yount, chief curator at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art in Richmond, will give the inaugural lecture on Saturday, Sept. 29, the one-year anniversary of the museum’s opening. More details will be forthcoming. 

The BRAHM membership committee — including Spooner, Fredel Reighard, Genie Starnes, Joanie Shirley, Maren Halvorson, Ineke Thomas — and Patty Alexander provided the refreshments.

The mission of the Blowing Rock Art and History Museum is to promote the visual arts, history and heritage of the mountains through educational programs, exhibitions and significant permanent collections. For more information, visit or call (828) 295.9099.
For more information and stories, see The Blowing Rocket.

ASU Sports

Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Blowing Rock My Hometown