Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

July 30, 2014

choose text size bigger text smaller text

Kylie Winkleman

Originally published: 2014-06-12 12:53:45
Last modified: 2014-06-12 12:54:29

Six new BRCF scholarships awarded

Staff Reports

The Blowing Rock Community Foundation is proud to announce the scholarship recipients for 2014. The six students pictured will join the current eighteen scholarship recipients for a total of twenty-four scholarships awarded for the 2014-2015 academic year. This includes the first recipient of the Jane and Dan Wolfe Scholarship – Cameron Linnville. Two scholarship recipients will graduate this May – Teresa Smith from North Carolina State University and Neta Linnville from St. Mary’s College.

The Foundation initially awarded one full scholarship (including tuition, room and board, and books). In 1999, Amber Teague Bratt was the first Foundation scholarship recipient to complete her undergraduate degree. Since then, eighty-three students have received scholarships totaling over $400,000. Of that number, over ninety percent have graduated with undergraduate or associates degrees and many have, or are in the process of, obtaining advanced degrees.

The Foundation is very proud of these scholarship recipients both past and present. Many thanks to all of the members of the community who have contributed time, talent, and resources to support the Foundation and our amazing young people.

The 2013 scholarship recipients are Jacob Chasteen, Andrea Foster, Cam Linnville, Logan Shaut, Benjamin Tang and Kylie Winkleman.

Congratulations to all of our Blowing Rock scholarship recipients.

Additional Images

For more information and stories, see The Blowing Rocket.

ASU Sports

Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Blowing Rock My Hometown